Fresh Summer Corn

My favorite blog = Food52. I stumbled upon the blog a couple weeks ago while looking for strawberry butter recipes, and I’ve been going back every day (sometimes multiple times a day) ever since.  Every week they have a recipe contest.  Peppers was the theme for last week, which inspired me to give Jamaican Beef Patties a third try.  I get better at it each time.  The pastry was perfect, but the filling only so-so.  The next time I make these patties they should be just right (a post for the near future).

This week’s Food52 contest is “Your best corn off the cob recipe.”  A light and refreshing summer dish of crepes, shrimp, goat cheese, squash and, of course, corn off the cob was the delightful result of my second entry attempt. I don’t think I’m quite ready to post this on Food52 (especially since the crepe recipe is adapted from Michael Symon’s Live to Cook).  Maybe next week’s contest…

Corn Crepes (adapted from Michael Symon’s Live to Cook)
My twist of the Iron Chef’s recipe – I roasted the peppers on my grill, and used sour cream and 1% milk because I couldn’t find a small enough carton of whole milk.
Ingredients:
1/2 cup fresh corn kernels
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 large eggs
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon milk (I used 1% because that’s what I had in my fridge at the time)
Heaping tablespoon of sour cream
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cup chopped roasted red bell pepper
1/2 cup chopped roasted green bell pepper
1/4 cup chopped scallion, white and green parts

Put all crepe ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.  Refrigerate for 2-4 hours.  To cook, pour enough batter into a skillet to coat with a thin layer.  Cook on medium heat until the edges start to dry up, then flip to finish cooking the other side.

Should make about 6 crepes. It took me a couple of tries to figure out the right amount and how to flip without tearing the crepe, so I ended up with 4 good ones.

Stuff crepes with Goat Cheese and “Tandoori” Shrimp (recipe below)

Tandoori Marinade (for shrimp, or whatever meat you choose)
Ingredients:
1 teaspoon of freshly grated ginger
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin
3/4 cup yogurt
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 lb large shrimp shelled and de-veined

Mix first 8 ingredients in a bowl.  Stir in shrimp.  Cover and marinate in the refrigerator for 1 hour (I’m not sure if the marinating is really necessary, I just had to stop in the middle of cooking to go to a party – but I like to think that the marinating helped to infuse some of the sauce into the shrimp).

I wanted to grill these on shish kabobs but by the time I got back from the party it was too late.  So I cooked the shrimp in a skillet until they turned pink, then reduced the sauce.  Adding goat cheese to the sauce as it reduced would have been brilliant now that I think about it.  Instead I stuffed the shrimp and some crumbled goat cheese in the corn crepes and served with a dallup of sour cream and grilled corn and zucchini salad (recipe below).

Refreshing grilled zucchini, summer squash and corn-off-the-cob salad
Ingredients:
2 ears of corn
1 zucchini
1 yellow squash
1 tablespoon of salt
1 clove minced garlic
Juice of 3 lemons
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

Grill and then chill corn, zucchini and squash.  Mix last 4 ingredients in a bowl.  Cut corn from the cob and dice zucchini and squash.  Pour lemon-oil mixture over veggies then serve along side “Tandoori” Shrimp and Goat Cheese Stuffed Corn Crepes.

Leave a comment